Alumni Western Be Extraordinary The Campaign For Western

Western Mustangs Athletic Alumni

After the celebration of 100 years of Mustangs Athletics in 2013-14, Western's two official athletic alumni chapters, The “W” Club and the Women’s Athletic Alumnae (WAA), joined efforts in support of the next 100 years of Western Mustangs Athletics. This one organization is now known as the Western Mustangs Athletic Alumni Chapter.

The Western Mustangs Athletic Alumni aims to build pride, to encourage and promote lifelong connections amongst Western’s athletes, coaches and staff while upholding the purple and proud tradition and heritage of Mustangs Athletics, and helping to provide a competitive advantage to our current athletes and programs.

If you would be interested or would like to learn more about programs and events, engaging athletic alumni, or volunteering with the group please contact us at or reach current Co-Presidents Rick Odegaard and Angela Schneider or Alumni Relations staff partner Jacquie Rose.

Chapter Volunteers

2018-19 Western Mustangs Athletic Alumni Board of Directors
    • Rick Odegaard, BA'69, Co-President; Governance Committee Chair
    • Angela Schneider, BA'82, MA'85, MA'87, PhD'93 Co-President (returning member)
    • Guy Zink, BA'74, BEd'75, Past-President (2016-2018)
    • Mary Riezebos, BA'74, BA'75, MA'80, JP Metras Museum Chair
    • Patricia Kitchen, BA'74, BEd'75, MA'77, Western Mustangs Sports Hall of Fame Co-Chair, Secretary to the WMAA Board
    • Bill McDonnell, BA'75, BEd'76, Western Mustangs Sports Hall of Fame Co-Chair
    • Lindsay Merrifield, BA'02, Grant Chair
    • Gary Gorham, BA’80 Treasurer
    • Janet Takahashi, BA'79, BEd'80
    • Natascha Wesch, MSc'98, PhD'08, MA'15
    • Mike Sheffar, BA'89
    • Sherri Castrilli, BA'99
Advisory Officers
  • David Edwards, BA’74, BEd’75
  • Helen Luckman, MEd’82 – Programs & Events Committee
  • Glenn Yonemitsu, BA’85, MBA’89
  • Therese Quigley, BA’75, BEd’77
Honourary Officers
  • Judy Alasczkiewicz, BA’75, MA’80
  • Ted Hessel, BA’58, BA’67
  • Helen Luckman, MEd’82
  • Bob Pearson, BA’63
  • Mike Sheffar, BA’89
  • Helena Smeenk-Pritchard, BA’73
  • Marty Day, HBA'80

Support Mustang Athletics
Be Extraordinary
Support Mustang Athletics
Donations to Adopt A Mustang ensure we can continue to develop leaders who excel well beyond their time at Western. [Read more]
facebooktwitterinstagramYouTubeLinkedInflickrWestern blogiTunesU
Powered by Blackbaud
nonprofit software