Hasenfratz named Entrepreneur of the Year

Linda Hasenfratz, BSC’89, MBA’97, President and CEO of Linamar Corporation was named the EY Entrepreneur of the Year 2014 National Award winner.

Linda accepted the award at a black-tie ceremony in Toronto on November 25, 2014. The event marked the culmination of five regional galas that drew more than 5,000 attendees nationwide. Next up, Linda will compete for EY’s World Entrepreneur Of The Year award in Monaco, June 3 to 7, 2015.

The EY Entrepreneur Of The Year Award, a leading business award for entrepreneurs, encourages entrepreneurial activity and recognizes leaders and visionaries who demonstrate innovation, financial success and personal commitment as they create and build world-class businesses.

The EY Entrepreneur Of The Year Award winners and National Special Citation honourees were selected by an independent panel of judges and from more than 63 regional award recipients.

Linda was chosen as the overall award winner for her inspiring work transforming and leading Linamar, a major automotive manufacturing business headquartered in Guelph, Ontario. Linda joined her family’s business in 1990 as a machine operator on the shop floor. She learned the business from the inside out, building a dynamic growth strategy that she used to propel Linamar to new heights after taking the helm as CEO in 2002. She’s cultivated a culture of investing in the company’s people and the future of the broader community.

“If ever there was an entrepreneur who defied gravity – Linda Hasenfratz is it!” says Colleen McMorrow, EY partner and National Entrepreneur Of The Year Program Director. “She’s quadrupled sales and grown the company’s workforce to 18,000 people during the most volatile times her industry has ever faced. She’s changed the game, and the results are amazing.”

EY Entrepreneur Of The Year celebrates the contribution and spirit of entrepreneurs everywhere. The Canadian program is in its 21st year of honouring the country’s most impressive entrepreneurs from all areas of business. Award finalists are chosen based on their vision, leadership, financial success and social responsibility.